Toyota MR2 Message Board

 

Home MR2.com Forum Rules Chat Garage Links Map Showcase Sponsors
Go Back   Toyota MR2 Message Board > Toyota MR2 Generations > MR2 VIN Registry > MK2 VIN Registry

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2007, 06:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Google Ron Paul
Donation Level 6 
 
Ncturnal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 7,152
Thanks: 96
Thanked 132 Times in 112 Posts
Blog Entries: 7

My Google Map



Send a message via AIM to Ncturnal Send a message via MSN to Ncturnal Send a message via Skype™ to Ncturnal
Suspected fraudulent listings - MK2

Over the years I've reported countless fraudulent auctions and classified listings as I've come accross them. There are some scammers out there that know how rare the MR2 is which has made it a target for quite a few scams. eBay has been very good about removing listings quickly if I've given ample proof that the listing is fake. The purpose of this thread is to create an archive of these attempted scams as I've seen several of the same car resurface from time to time.
__________________
Brian - My MR2Trader Ads - Click here for order or shipping status if you've bought something from me recently.

Technical Questions - Please post them on the forums. Others who may have the same problem don't benefit from a PM exchange. If you wish to have my input I have no problem with a PM containing a link to a thread you have already posted.

Last edited by Mister2.2; 06-05-2007 at 07:28 AM.. Reason: suck at teh sp3ll
Ncturnal is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 06:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Google Ron Paul
Donation Level 6 
 
Ncturnal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 7,152
Thanks: 96
Thanked 132 Times in 112 Posts
Blog Entries: 7

My Google Map



Send a message via AIM to Ncturnal Send a message via MSN to Ncturnal Send a message via Skype™ to Ncturnal
White 1995 MR2 Turbo - VIN JT2SW22N0S0100767

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...MakeTrack=true

Here's an archive of the listing in case that one gets deleted.
http://www.mr2board.com/files/mr2/mk...N0S0100767.htm

This auction may be legitimate but a few things bother me about it and so far it's fitting the profile of some of the previous fraudulent listings. I'm still waiting to get a response back from whoever listed the car. This MR2 has been listed fraudulently in the past as well. This particular MR2 used to be in Atlanta approximately two years ago and I know the previous owners personally. The images used in this auction are ones taken by my friend two years ago (he still owns the suburban in the background of a few of the pictures). The listing user has zero feedback but the listing itself looks professionally made. I emailed the user and will know for sure once they respond because the scam always involves "the car being overseas but they will ship at their expense blah, blah, blah". As always, buyer beware.
Ncturnal is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright © 2004-2006 - East Coast Imports, LLC
Page generated in 0.33250 seconds with 212 queries