Toyota MR2 Message Board

 

Home MR2.com Forum Rules Chat Garage Links Map Showcase Sponsors
Go Back   Toyota MR2 Message Board > Welcome To The Toyota MR2 Board! > Site Announcements, Questions & Comments

Site Announcements, Questions & Comments If you have a problem, suggestion, or question about the Toyota MR2 Message Board, please post it here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2005, 08:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
NoAgendaShow.com
Donation Level 6 
 
Ncturnal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7,446
Thanks: 94
Thanked 158 Times in 125 Posts
Blog Entries: 7

My Google Map



Send a message via Skype™ to Ncturnal
General scam alert

If someone is trying to sell you a car and they claim to be overseas, seriously don't even bother. Chances are it's a scam. You get these people selling rediculously nice or expensive cars for cheap, and making an offer to use the Square Trade escrow service and sometimes offering to ship the car via Luftansa Airlines. Square Trade is NOT an escrow service. Any escrow service with Square Trade as part of the name is a scam. (http://www.carbuyingtips.com/fraud.htm) Don't fall for this crap. If it sounds too good to be true, it is. There is no need to bother putting "probably" in that sentence anymore. I had a friend contact me regarding a Supra being sold by a guy in Germany that wanted to sell it using the Square Trade escrow service. Immediately my friend knew it was a scam and shared it with me for a laugh. The guy even had a photo copy of a title. (See attached) I cross referenced the VIN (JT2JA82L8P0001200) listed on the title and found an ebay auction a week prior which I'm sure was a legitimate ad that the scammer got the VIN from. Here is the eBay ad I saved a copy of the ad here if that link no longer works. The scammer had 8 almost identical listings on Autotrader. I saved the search here (look toward the bottom)

Here are a few sample ads:
Sample ad #1
Sample ad #2
Sample ad #3

Autotrader is very good about removing these fraudulent ads. I had to call them once before when some scammer listed my own car!!

The Car Buying Tips link below has good contact info to report fraudulent listings and the major online car advertising sites.

http://www.carbuyingtips.com/fraud.htm

Keep in mind that sometimes the scammers could also pose as buyers. Their trick is to send you a fake cashiers check that exceeds the price you are asking for you car and request that you send them a "refund" of the excess. If you are sending money to the buyer when you are selling a car, IT'S A SCAM!

So keep an eye out for these scam ads and be sure to report them when you see them!
Attached Thumbnails
general-scam-alert-supratitle.jpg  
__________________
Brian - My MR2Trader Ads - Click here for order or shipping status if you've bought something from me recently.

Technical Questions - Please post them on the forums. Others who may have the same problem don't benefit from a PM exchange. If you wish to have my input I have no problem with a PM containing a link to a thread you have already posted.
Ncturnal is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright © 2004-2011 - East Coast Imports, LLC
Page generated in 0.50969 seconds with 328 queries