Toyota MR2 Message Board

 

Home MR2.com Forum Rules Chat Garage Links Map Showcase Sponsors
Go Back   Toyota MR2 Message Board > Toyota Engine Clubs > V6 Owners Group

V6 Owners Group Discussion forum based on the Toyota V6 engine

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2006, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cage Fighter
 
Toysrme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 681
Thanks: 4
Thanked 23 Times in 17 Posts





Cool List of confirmed legit Engine/Transmission sellers ebay/online

After seeing multiple people online, and on ebay getting screwed buying v6's, A/T's, or M/T's getting the bait & switch. (i.e. 3vz-fe to 4vz-fe, 88-91 A540-E to 92-93 A540-E & 94-96 A541-E's, and buying E153 M/T's for a 3vz-fe+ only to get an E152 M/T from a 2vz-fe.)

The time has come to find legit sellers, and boycott anyone that won't do otherwise. I've been in contact with *every* active seller on ebay over the last week.

Some are pricks, some are whatever - we don't care, and a few are informed, and helpful.

The tops for me to deal with so far, for being outstanding to work with, and quick to act of things I have asked them to do are:
CNS Motors on ebay. (Andy Lee - 626-452-1153) (Sells US spec engines) (Tops of everyone. Email reply in hours WITH 100% new, specific pictures across the board.)
tomsforeignautoparts on ebay / Toms4n.com (Dan) (Sells US spec engines) (Another person that was good to deal with)

Other reputable sellers would be:
ask4crash on ebay (Jamie) (Import engines) (Admits to selling vz-fe's to 2vz-fe owners, but seems to be polite, and will offer a refund to anyone that his importer sends an unspecified engine too. Says they've never sent, nor seen a 4vz-fe.)
FYI, 2vz-fe to vz-fe swap has been extremely common over the years. Unlike the 3vz-fe 4vz-fe fiascoes of the last year, or two.



Not up to par (i.e. people I wouldn't personally plunk down hundreds of dollars to) are:
motorworks111 on ebay (Major attitude problem/not helpful in the least)





ALL v6 dealers have been informed that they need clear pictures of the engines they are selling. Specifically, they need to include pictures of the block casting, and the "cc-displacement" label on the intake manifold.

These are "compliant" pictures, sent by CNS Motors for our example purposes:





Everyone is free to do what they want, but this really is for the good of the entire community (Not just this site...).

Anyone not showing similar pics for *all* Toyota v6's for sale... Don't buy them, and feel free to tell them why you're not buying from them!
Toysrme is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Toysrme For This Useful Post:
wesnemo (03-10-2007)
Old 04-24-2006, 11:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
What is an MR2?
Donation Level 6 
 
Weasy2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 8,891
Thanks: 33
Thanked 82 Times in 68 Posts





Send a message via AIM to Weasy2k Send a message via MSN to Weasy2k
hrmm im goign to look into these other engines :P wonder if i can get the block of some of them...
Weasy2k is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 12:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
soon to be "V"
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

My Google Map



Send a message via AIM to mr-355-5sfte
don't forget to add KTAUTO2U to the DO NOT BUY list....
thanks for doing this toysrme, I was in the process of doing the same... but you beat me to it!!

this should help tremendously for future v6 purchases.
mr-355-5sfte is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 02:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Dreaming of apexes
 
Gairloch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 5,313
Thanks: 139
Thanked 296 Times in 264 Posts
Blog Entries: 4

My Google Map



Send a message via AIM to Gairloch Send a message via MSN to Gairloch
For the ones that are "Do not buy" can we get a little detail on why not? Will make decision making easier.
Gairloch is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 10:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
soon to be "V"
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

My Google Map



Send a message via AIM to mr-355-5sfte
all of the info you need for KTAUTO2U is in my post "v-6 reccomendations" I don't want to clutter the sticky
mr-355-5sfte is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 10:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
ME out of training :)
 
mr2slow4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Clemmons, NC
Posts: 2,336
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

My Google Map



Send a message via AIM to mr2slow4you Send a message via MSN to mr2slow4you
Ron, MR2Swift, at Motors Unlimited in CA. I had a very good experience. The price was a little high, but i recieved an excellent engine.
mr2slow4you is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 06:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
3VZGTE..NEMESIS IS COMING
 
D-spec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 439
Thanks: 17
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts





Just got my 3vzfe from www.tigerjapanese.com, also a verified ebay seller. I bought it directly from their website because I missed out on an auction (no cashola) Very Very nice, located in Canada, sent me a 25000 mile 3vzfe in about 5 days from Canada to Texas, I highly recommend them for all your jap engine needs, they have cheap 4ag's and 3sgtes as well. My 3vz was under 800 shipped to the door via UPS with tracking.

Dave
D-spec is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 04:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
91t and staying that way
 
85mr2illinois's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Alton Illinois
Posts: 87
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts





Send a message via AIM to 85mr2illinois
I too just recieved my 3vzfe from tigerjapanese the website. So far i am very pleased. I have not installed yet but quality looks very good so far! would definitely recommend, great prices!
85mr2illinois is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 08:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Cage Fighter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts





Car-Part.com--Used Auto Parts Market
brad d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 09:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
JDMportal.com
Donation Level 2 
 
Basement Digital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 357
Thanks: 50
Thanked 32 Times in 12 Posts
Blog Entries: 1





Send a message via Yahoo to Basement Digital
Nagasaki Motors: I got a great deal on a clean engine + tranny + uncut harness 3sgte. Great success!
Basement Digital is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 10:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
No Skills
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts





I have had very good dealings with Japan Engine Inc. San Leandro CA. 866-532-7878. I have bought over 20 eng's and tran's from them and have had only one bad unit. They immediatly shipped out a replacement...Curt
CurtsMR2 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 02:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
f
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

My Google Map



Diamond Japanese

Wouldn't really recommend them. The shipping was very fast, but the motor was covered in saw dust (seriously I've torn it down and cleaned everything and I'm still finding it. They cut some things that did NOT need to be cut, namely an O2 sensor wire and the Knock sensor wire. Both of those have metal shielding around them that make splicing in to the wires very difficult. Not cool. Price was average, I paid 750 shipped, it was a JDM motor but came via Canada.
Lime-Light is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright © 2004-2011 - East Coast Imports, LLC
Page generated in 0.32928 seconds with 338 queries